So magically last night I got my old iMac working (we are talking like voodoo level stuff here) and started to transfer most of my old music library onto my laptop since the ole iMac is clearly in its death throes. Happened across a song I really like but had not listened to in years, its called Last Notes by Shaun Groves. Lyrics are below:


There is a part of me
That’s only visiting
Torn from eternity
A stranger here

The awkward mingling of
The loveless and beloved
So far from things above
While I am here

So when the last notes of my soul’s summer symphony
Go stealing through this old world’s cold garden gates
I will hold no fear as You close my book of hours
And the hands of heaven carry me
Carry me home to stay

O Death where is your sting
Your tears and your tremblings
His peace is lingering
Even now

O Grave the battle’s fought
Your vict’ry has been lost
To Christ who gave it all
To take me now

It’s a great song because the first part highlights the tension believers have between living in a fallen world and “setting our minds on things above.” But I really love the last part, its an excellent reminder that while we live in a crazy, wacky, fallen word, Christ’s death has released us from the fear of our own. Delivering us to a life of service and love, giving us a longing during the “awkward mingling” we live on this earth that this place might be redeemed. Looking more like the place we as Christians long for!


“If you read history you will find that the Christians who did most for the present world were just those who thought most of the next… It is since Christians have largely ceased to think of the other world that they have become so ineffective in this. Aim at Heaven and you will get earth ‘thrown in’: aim at earth and you will get neither

(p. 134).” Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis

Song link is below, sorry could not find a good YouTube link. But let’s just be real, you should have spotify by this point anyways. Also if you have not read Mere Christianity, I would suggest doing so post-haste.

