My pastor has been preaching through the 4th chapter in Galatians over the last couple of weeks and this part has been grabbing my attention.

Galatians 4:4-7

But when the fullness of time had come, God sent forth his Son, born of woman, born under the law, to redeem those who were under the law, so that we might receive adoption as sons. And because you are sons, God has sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, crying, “Abba! Father!” So you are no longer a slave, but a son, and if a son, then an heir through God.

Whenever I read this verse and more particularly whenever I encounter the theological idea of being adopted as sons of God I cant help but immediately compare it to earthly adoption. I mean my mind immediately begins to compare my adoption by Christ to like when a couple adopts a little baby. This baby has nothing, no parents, no home, no hope, no future, with nothing at all to offer, yet this child is chosen! Two parents walk up and say YOU child are MINE, I choose you and I love you! I think that’s why earthly adoption is such a cool thing, its such an incredible picture of when Christ looks us in the face and says child I love you and you are mine! Praise God that when we had nothing at all to offer, Christ paid it all and bought us, that we might be his adopted sons and daughters!

 

May the temper and conduct of sons ever show our adoption; and may the Holy Spirit witness with our spirits that we are children and heirs of God. -MH

 

